Made in much the same process as beer (at least at first), malt (from barley or another grain) is mixed with water, the starches are broken into sugar, the sugars are fed to yeast, and the yeast produces alcohol. Then, a particular kind of bacteria known as Acetobacter “converts the alcohol portion to acid.”
Can celiacs have barley malt extract?
Malt Extract and Gluten-Free Foods. In the United Kingdom gluten-free foods may contain barley malt extract. According to the website of the UK Coeliac Society, “products containing barley malt extract in low levels that meet the Codex standard can be tolerated by most people with coeliac disease.”
Is barley malt extract vegetarian?
Also known as malted barley or malt extract, barley malt is a thick sweet syrup made from sprouting barley and using its enzymes to convert the starches into sugar. This mixture is then cooked down until it's reduced to a thick syrup. This process is known as malting.